My New Years Goals

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions-572x433

As new years is approaching many of us are thinking of what we want to change or improve upon in the up coming year. These things may be deeply personal and things we don’t share with others. Some are things we will freely share. We all have things we need to work on and change. None of us is like Calvin here who is apparently perfect. Or At least he seems to think so. Over the next week weight loss commercials will be running rampant over all forms of media. Messages of your not good enough unless you do this to buy that for new years will be the norm as it does every year.

At this time of year of renewed hope and optimism for the future there is one goal that I hope we will all have in mind. One that is is one of my goals this year. I hope to be more Christ like in my thoughts, words and actions. I hope to think more of others and try to focus more on those things that are of importance and spend less time of things of no importance. I hope to spend more time with my children and less time with the TV

One of the aspect of becoming more Christ like is patients. A virtue that I admit I am sorely lacking in. There are many scriptures which I hope can help me with this aspect of my self.

2nd Timothy 2:24: And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,

Romans 12:12:Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer;

Doctrine and Covenants 6:19: Admonish him in his faults, and also receive admonition of him. Be patient; be sober; be temperate; have patience, faith, hope and charity.

Ecclesiastes 7:8:Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof: and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.

1 Thessalonians 5:14:Now we exhort you, brethren, warn them that are unruly, comfort the feeble minded, support the weak, be patient toward all men.

Doctrine and Covenants 31:9:Be patient in afflictions, revile not against those that revile. Govern your house in meekness, and be steadfast.

I think you get the point. Patients is something that the lord as admonished us to be. We must be patients towards others.

Another area that I would like to improve upon this year is not getting angry when children rebel or refuse to obey. This is an area that I struggle with as my impatient nature can escalate to anger very quickly at times. While I’m sure that every parent has yelled at there kids at some point, I feel that it happens to often and that is one area I need to improve upon my self. It’s OK to be upset with your kids and it will happen from time to time but It’s in how we respond to those feelings that make it good or bad. Children need to feel our love for them even when we are angry or upset with them. A hymn of the church is one I wish to emulate more effectively in my own life.

School thy feelings, O my brother;
Train thy warm, impulsive soul.
Do not its emotions smother,
But let wisdom’s voice control.
School thy feelings; there is power
In the cool, collected mind.
Passion shatters reason’s tower,
Makes the clearest vision blind

School thy feelings; condemnation
Never pass on friend or foe,
Though the tide of accusation
Like a flood of truth may flow.
Hear defense before deciding,
And a ray of light may gleam,
Showing thee what filth is hiding
Underneath the shallow stream.

Should affliction’s acrid vial
Burst o’er thy unsheltered head,
School thy feelings to the trial;
Half its bitterness hath fled.
Art thou falsely, basely, slandered?
Does the world begin to frown?
Gauge thy wrath by wisdom’s standard;
Keep thy rising anger down.

Rest thyself on this assurance:
Time’s a friend to innocence,
And the patient, calm endurance
Wins respect and aids defense.
Noblest minds have finest feelings;
Quiv’ring strings a breath can move;
And the gospel’s sweet revealings
Tune them with the key of love.

Hearts so sensitively molded
Strongly fortified should be,
Trained to firmness and enfolded
In a calm tranquility.
Wound not willfully another;
Conquer haste with reason’s might;
School thy feelings, sister, brother;
Train them in the path of right.

I hope to make this hymn my anthem when I feel frustrated and angry over things that bother or anger me.

There are many things we can improve upon. And with God’s help we can succeed where we otherwise would of failed on our own. God is the father of us all and has infinite patients and love for all his children.  These are my New Years resolutions, Its not a large list but an important one. Let me know what your new years goals are.

I wish you and your family and happy new year and to have more of the spirit of Christ in your lives for the upcoming and all other years and God Bless.

http://andrewsbookreviews.wordpress.com/

By Andrew McLean Posted in Orginals