I Need Money To be Happy

A few days ago I overheard a conversation with some peers talking about how money can buy happiness. My peers were talking about how their life would be better if only they had more money and that it can buy them happiness. My first thought was I must be pretty miserable person since I don’t have any money, I have no way to buy my happiness. I thought there must be something wrong with me because I don’t feel sad and I certainly don’t have much in the way of money, yet I am happy. Where did I buy this happiness and how did I get it if money buys happiness.

Money can buy a lot of things But happiness is not one of them. Money can buy tv’s, cell phones and tablets, Internet services, books, music, tv shows, good food, nice vacations. The list could go on and on and on. Happiness does not come from the acquisition of material possessions. Happiness does not come from worldly things. Eiffel 65’s song too much of heaven sums this idea up quite well.

let me tell you what it’s all about,
it’s called money dependence today,
and people just keep on going on
looking at the dollar bill,
and nothing else around them.
no love, no friendship, nothing else,
just the dollar bill coming on into their pocket,
into their bank account,
and that’s too much of heaven
bringing them underground.

We measure success by the acquisition of material possessions and wealth. As a relative of mine once said “I won’t marry a man unless he makes more money than me” Translation: “I care about the money not the type of person they are, my happiness comes from material things and money not from love and respect and a willingness to work together for mutual benefit”

How often do we stop and think I would be happy if only I had a bigger house, new car, nice vacations ….. That’s the problem when we start thinking I will be happy when. We are never happy because there is always something else we need to make us happy. How can we ever be happy when our entire focus on happiness is based on the accumulation of material things. Some of the happiest people I have ever met are living in poverty. How can they be happy if money buys happiness, they don’t have money.

If money can buy happiness than how do you explain These 10 men who committed suicide despite having millions.  Couldn’t they have just bought their happiness. Happy people don’t kill themselves, and yet these 10 millionaires killed themselves despite the money they had, if money could truly buy happiness then these and many others like them would not of killed themselves, they would have just bought their happiness.

I was recently Invited to attend an event called the Answer to Everything. It was all about how to live happy and successful lives. It was an odd event I found. While there was much talk about living good lives of love and friendship. Making sure that we are not failing within our homes. Selflessness and how to be happy the conversations kept coming back to more money. It felt that in the end the focus was your answer to everything was more money. That is simply not the case. Life is not about the pursuit of money. It is about learning to be happy.

I have been asked wouldn’t I like to have more money. Of course I would but I cannot see myself being happier for having more money. I would be happy about having more money yes, but I would not be happier overall. It would bring temporary happiness and would not and can not resolve the common problems that we face in our lives.

What it boils down to is that happiness cannot be found in money. This is a flaw in thinking that will lead to more and more misery and less and less happiness.

Happiness is found in the Gospel of Jesus christ and generally an Attitude of Gratitude. When you can live your life so that you can think, sure having these other things would be great and wonderful, but I don’t need them to make me happy you will live a much happier and successful life as a result. I can tell you there is a lot of things that I would like. A car, A mortgage, No debt… but I am also happy and will continue to strive for those things but in the end those are material worldly possessions and not needed to be happy.

What I have learned is that all I need to be happy is my Wife by my side, and my families needs to be taken care of and I need to be living the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I don’t have a perfect life. I would never pretend to. But I can say that overall I am happy with my life and how things are going for me.

I think we can all look at our lives and see areas that needs to change, improve and otherwise be resolved more effectively. But lets also remember that if your life’s happiness is based on the pursuit worldly things and the accumulation of wealth you will spend your life in misery. The pursuit of wealth is not the key to happiness. But rather the pursuit of happiness through the gospel of Jesus christ and loving your family is truly the key to happiness for “no success can compensate for failur in the home”

My book reviews is a great place to see what awsome books are out there as well, don’t forget to check it out.

 

By Andrew McLean Posted in Orginals