I’M AN UNCLE!

10378536_522627641208091_4352717502677629102_n

Just recently I became an uncle. My sister had her baby last week. exciting times for her and her husband. Because she was born early I have not had the chance to meet her yet but eagerly look forward to the time when we can introduce her cousins to her. I know that my 3 Girls are eagerly awaiting the time when they can meet their new baby cousin.

I look forward to watching her grow up as my sister shares the stories and pictures of her. I look forward to sharing in her birthday parties and giving her parents a night off from time to time so they can enjoy a nice date. Something I have learned from experience is not only important but can be difficult to find the time to do once you become a parent.

I don’t know anything about being an uncle but I am sure I can take a lesson or 2 from my sister. Take the kids out and spoil them then send them home :P.

There is so much I have wanted to do with a niece or nephew and now I have the great opportunity to do those things. Every year my girls get involved in Mini Crush. My girls join the Edmonton Rush dance team for a half time performance at the Edmonton Rush Lacrosse game. Here is a picture from last years dress rehearsal.

1513705_820851637930289_1800061340_n

When my Little niece is 4 years old I hope to involve her in mini crush with her cousins. My sister and her husband have come every year to watch my girls perform and I am sure will continue to do so. Especially considering we give them free tickets!

My girls are growing up so fast and I know that my little niece will as well. She will be a blessing in so many ways to my sister and her husband.

I only hope that I can become the best uncle she will ever know. My wife eagerly anticipates the day she will meet her niece for the first time.

There is so much counsel and advice I want to give my sister on raising kids but I know that unsolicited advice is seldom appreciated. So I want my sister and brother-in-law to know that I will never offer unsolicited advice but I am always ready and willing to impart any wisdom as meager and little as that is, when it comes to child rearing should she ask it of me and my wife.

I am so excited about being an uncle and can’t wait to spoil the heck out of her. Buy her all kinds of noisy and annoying toys and then send her home to mom and dad. Stuff her full of sugar and send her home hyper. The kind of things all uncles get to do. (Don’t worry sis, I won’t get her to crazy before sending her home)

I know that she will grow up to be a virtuous daughter of God because she has righteousness and virtuous parents to teach her in all the ways of God. I know that there are times of joy and happiness ahead that my sister can only begin to imagine.

I have not met my Niece yet but I will commit to being the best uncle I can be. I can’t wait to meet you.

Love your Uncle Andrew

 

By Andrew McLean Posted in Orginals