Leave Out All The Rest

My Grandma is currently hospitalized and at this point we do not know if she will still be with us come Christmas time. With the end of her life approaching she has, certainly, I believe given a reason to be missed. But what about ourselves. Are we living in such a way?

There is a Linkin Park song that I have really come to like quite a bit. It is not exactly a happy song but certainly a message to consider. It is called Leave out all the rest.

When listening to this song We hear the pleading that perhaps all of us have experienced at one point in our lives.

“When my time comes, forget the wrong that I’ve done. Help me leave behind some reason to be missed. And don’t resent me, and when your feeling empty, keep me in your memory, leave out all the rest”

Listening  to this song gets me thinking, what kind of legacy am I leaving behind? Am I living my life so that others will remember me with fondness or indifference. Will my family and friends remember the Good I have done or will they remember all the sins I have committed. Will I be loved or hated?

Nobody is perfect, we all have our weaknesses and sin in uncountable ways. Sometimes we have to stop and ask our selves from time to time if how we are living now will help us leave a memory of love rather than one of resentment. Will we be remembered as men and women of righteousness or remember as men and women of vices?

We have been blessed with the gospel as our guide. Through it we learn how to be good and honest people. We have been shown through our church leaders and the scriptures how to live a righteous life that we can be proud of. Are you living such a life?

Elder Neal A Maxwell once said

“To begin with there is the matter of our life’s course or direction. In the sixth Lecture on Faith, the Prophet Joseph Smith said we need to know “that the course of life” we are pursuing “is according to the will of God, in order to … exercise faith in him unto life and salvation.” (In Lectures on Faith, comp. N. B. Lundwall, Salt Lake City: N. B. Lundwall, n.d., p. 57.) Obviously, our imperfections make God’s full and final approval of our lives impossible now, but the basic course of our life can be approved. If we have that basic reassurance, we can further develop faith. Once our direction is correct, we can give attention to pace.”

This is the first step in evaluating how we are living now and weather it is a life that we can honestly says has given others reason to forget the wrong that we have done and help us leave behind a reason to be missed.

If you stopped to evaluate your life right now what changes would you make to improve yourself so that when our times comes we can be confident that we leave behind a reason to be missed?

There is so much I can write about what I hope to leave behind but the most important thing I hope to leave behind is the memory of a man that not only has a testimony of the gospel but actively lives it!!

Our lives are a work in progress and are in need of constant improvement.  I still have much to do and a long way to go before I can honestly say that I have met the standard that I want to leave behind me. With persistent effort and faith in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ we can leave behind a legacy of faith and accomplishment that our children, and grandchildren will remember fondly in there hearts.

And that is the Gospel according to Andrew

One comment on “Leave Out All The Rest

  1. Pingback: TOP 10 POSTS OF 2014 | Gospel view

Comments are closed.