Is Christ Active or Passive in your Life?

praisebeuntohim_1369328167

Here is a question that everyone needs to take some time to ponder. It is something that I would hope that we would all strive for. Through out my life I have been a fence sitter on some issues. I have explored some ways of being that were not and is not in harmony with the gospel of Jesus Christ.  I have lived without the spirit and at times struggled to maintain the pureness that my God and Savior would have me maintain as part of my existence and Life.

I have been to the temple but have not been perfect at keeping the covenants made their. This post is not about a public confessions of my sins however,  It is about understanding that we all sin, none of us are perfect. Our spiritual connections with God and our Savior Jesus Christ is unique to all of us. We are all at different stages of our relationships with him. We all need help to bring our lives closer to Christ.

The question of Christ being active or passive is one I find myself contemplating as of late when evaluating my current level of spirituality. My wife ever has been a good example to me over the years of virtue and modesty. One of the traits that makes her so attractive. Her example to me is of someone who, while I don’t hear her speak of her testimony often, she certainly strives to live it on a daily basis. Her choices in how she chooses to live speaks more of her testimony than any words could effectively give.

This state of active verses passive seems to be a never-ending roller coaster ride for me. I can tell you however that it is a far cry from where I came from where Christ being passive would have been dramatic improvement. The first thing we need to figure out is whether or not Christ is active or passive in our lives. Once that has been determined we can then work to improve our relationship With God.

When you take the time to truly evaluate your relationship with God and Christ, or even how you are living your life in relation to his teachings will you find that you are living in harmony with his gospel?

I know for myself it seems to go in waves, not so much the living right part as I do the best I can but rather the active verses passive part. We all have challenges and at times it seems my spiritual level or connection with God seems to go in waves. From highs feeling very connected to lows where I feel that I just have not had the spirit with me like I should. It is those times that I need to step back and re-evaluate where my choices have led and if they are influencing this feeling of lack of the spirit.

There are of course the standard “seminary” answer to keeping Christ active in our lives. Go to church, Read the scriptures, Say your prayers etc… Sometimes however it seems that despite doing all the right things it is not always enough. We still need an added measure of the spirit in our lives. Without out which we cannot continue to grow in the spirit and our testimonies. We may find our selves slipping away from the gospel or simply going through the motions because we know we should.

Some of the most difficult times of keeping the spirit in our lives is when dealing with difficult children. Parenting is not an easy job and when dealing with difficulties, fighting and dis obedient children this is a time when keeping the spirit with me can be the hardest. To say that responding in a Christ like fashion is difficult is really and understatement at times like that.

I know for myself that I do not want to live like that. I want to live so that the spirit is always part of my life and a constant companion. Despite my best efforts that does not always seem to happen. I think all of us can relate to this as we do our best to be a disciple of Christ.

It is in these times where Christ seems to be just passive in our lives that we need to turn to him for strength and guidance through prayer and scriptures study to get us back on track. It is at times like this that we need to re-focus our minds and thoughts to Christ and make sure that we are doing all we can to ensure that we are living in harmony with the gospel.

And that is the Gospel According to Andrew

One comment on “Is Christ Active or Passive in your Life?

  1. Interesting view. Thanks for being honest in your post. I definitely have evolved regarding what Christ is all about and plan on sharing that in my future blog posts. It is a much deeper subject than just what we have been taught at church. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on this.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.